What Am I Doing With My Days?

The other day I mentioned the verse in Psalm 118:24, to rejoice, this is the day that the Lord has made and to happy and happy with a merry heart. I also expressed that not every day do I feel that way. But I am asked of the Lord to do so. It is right there in black and white. How much clearer do I need it?

Some days I need it written in the sky.

Well know what happened!

This morning I watched the sun rise. It wasn’t a grand or spectacular sun rise, but I watched it come up. Many that know me know that I am NOT a morning person.

I was woke by my dad about 6:30 am, he needed his pain pill. My mom and sister are away for other Dr. appointments for mom, my sister helps care for them, because of many health issues.

I am now awake, not too thrilled over the hour, was woke different times through the night, with the needs of dad or just his talking in his sleep. Needless to say, I am tired, not refreshed.

Back to my early rise and the privilege to see the ‘Son’ of God rise in my heart. As I watched the sun rise I pondered the writings from a few days ago. I thought, “Oh God, what am I doing? I feel so helpless here. I wish I could do more.” I went out on the cold porch and continued watching as the sun wasn’t quite up and shining yet. It was about 37 degrees out. For me that is a bit chilly. I ran back in and got my camera, I don’t see many of these mornings. I thought to myself, “Lord, you have gotten me up early for a reason. Your reason.” I am standing out there in my jammies, sweatshirt and socks. “Lord whatever it is I am to see, know or both, please reveal them to me.” I stood out on the porch and watched. I kept wondering, “Okay Lord, it’s cold, I’d really like to see the sun rise soon.” Well what is the first thing I was to learn. A small voice says to my heart, “Patience, it’s coming.” Okay, I’ll wait. Why? because I knew this was to be His day. I wanted it to be His day.

I continued to watch. It rose! Just as the sun rose over the mountain top I thought, “Oh Lord my God, rise in my heart today just as you have here in the sky. It wasn’t fancy, but bright and reassuring of His hope and glory.

Here a couple of verse I came across today that blessed my heart.

Eccles. 11:7
Truly the light is sweet, and a pleasant thing it is for the eyes to behold the sun:
Psalm 84:11
For the Lord God is a sun and shield: the Lord will give grace and glory: no good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly.

I am glad that I was patient.

My goodness! You ask of the Lord, why then are we surprised when He gives His word and a promise from His word. The Lord wants to not only reassure me, but all His people who life in Him is good and He will not withhold any good thing from us that He has. How precious is our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ. He is most defiantly our all in all. The all-sufficient One. Thank you Jesus for your sunrise this morning and your wonderful promises.

Taken off the porch Monday morning. God's glorious sunrise!

The sun rising in the early morning sky and the promise it holds for the day is my hope for my day. Again I thank You, Jesus.

5 thoughts on “What Am I Doing With My Days?

  1. Wonderful post however , I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Kudos!

    Like

Comments are closed.