Who OR What Holds My Heart?

Don’t be intimidated by the length of this posting. Please read it if you have ever found yourself trying to juggle priorities of life. Thank you.

Oh my! What a statement! Who or what does hold my heart?

Matthew 6:21 (KJV)
For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.

So,

My hand with a symbol of my heart to the Lord.

Lord here is a symbol I give to You. Take my heart and do with it as you see fit. Picture of and by Candy Clonts

where is my heart? It is in the place that I hold most dear to ME. What and Who are the dearest to my heart.

I want and desire to say with Jesus and all that He has for me. But, sad to say, my heart is not totally, completely, undeniably, 100 percent on the things that I ought to be occupying my life with. Finding myself at the feet of Jesus, listening to what He wants to tell me or direct my day in. I am caught up with cares….things of my life. Jesus asks me not to be caught up with self and what this life may hold. But with Him…that is the Who, and with His desire…this is the What.

Luke 10:41-42 (KJV-Look at verse 38-42)
…Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things: [42] But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.

What are my concerns when they are not on the Lord?  Spouse (my husband). Family. Children and grandchildren. Church. Job. Finances. My space……. You get my jest. What a pit fall I find myself in too often.

Matthew 6:24-34 (KJV)
No man can serve two masters: for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye cannot serve God and mammon. [25] Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment? [26] Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they? [27] Which of you by taking thought can add one cubit unto his stature? [28] And why take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin: [29] And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. [30] Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which to day is, and to morrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith? [31] Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed? [32] (For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things. [33] But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. [34] Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.

For the Who…that is quite obvious. My heart should be occupied with the Lord and all that He is. Jesus is to my whole world and life. But does it always happen that way. No! I get distracted. I feel like I ought to be able to justify myself in that, “I am not the only one that does and feels like this.”

“Try this on for size Candy. What are you going to do or say now about ‘Who’ your heart needs to be steadfast upon.” (I need Someone to shake me around. I’d rather hear from the Word of God, then other alternatives. God’s Word is powerful. (Hebrews 4:12)

Matthew 6:19-23 (KJV)
Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal: [20] But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal: [21] For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also. [22] The light of the body is the eye: if therefore thine eye be single, thy whole body shall be full of light. [23] But if thine eye be evil, thy whole body shall be full of darkness. If therefore the light that is in thee be darkness, how great is that darkness!

Lord lead me in your paths, your ways. Help to teach me to not be so caught up and concerned about what is going on around about me. I feel at times I am falling into darkness. It is a darkness of  “I can not control this……..” But Lord you don’t want me in control. You are to be at the helm of my life and its everyday and moment by moment event. Help me!

Did I really say that! Yes. With all that may come with it.

Oh, Candy! do you know what you are saying! Yes I do! And I want it more than anything else in my life.

Have you counted the cost? Yes. Yet I’m sure I don’t understand all that will come my way. One thing I am sure of is that I want and desire all of Jesus and What and Who He desires to be to and for me. Because I know one thing, I can’t on my own. That is a good place. I have been here more than on one occasion.

Deut. 10:16 (KJV)
Circumcise therefore the foreskin of your heart, and be no more stiffnecked.

Ouch to have parts, maybe all of me transformed. Things in my life that I may feel important to me…cut away. Yes. I have great promises in God’s Word…and these are just a few…very few.

Psalm 31:24 (KJV)
Be of good courage, and he shall strengthen your heart, all ye that hope in the Lord.

Jeremiah 29:13 (KJV)
And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.

Thank you Jesus for I know that You have me in You have me in Your hand and You will do what is right for me in every way.

Here is my heart, cut away so that I may be pleasing to You.

I want and need You, Jesus.

