Needing to be heard. (Matthew 5. The Beatitudes)

Greetings, hello and God bless you. It has been a whirlwind of a month for me. I know that there have been many at home and many of you that have been praying for my family and me. I am so blessed to have the pouring out of God‘s peace, love, grace and hope being as it is being revealed to me, through all of you. I thank you and praise God for you and all He chooses to use in my life to ready me for His soon coming return.

Can you imagine the amount of people who were following Jesus to hear what He had to say. It astounds me. It says here in verse 1 “the multitudes.” Multitudes means, a throng (mass, mob of people), a rabbling (a large bunch) class of people, mass, number, to press (so many that you probably feel as if you are in a great squeezing “press”). 

Matthew 5:1 
    And seeing the multitudes, he went up into a mountain: and when he was set, his disciples came unto him:

If you look at the last verse in chapter 4, it will give you a small idea of possibly how many people may have been following Jesus. These people not only followed Jesus for miles, but days, several days of travel. He was the talk of every town He entered. People wanted to hear and see what all the talk was of this man called Jesus and what He was all about. Some followed out of curiosity, others from a sincere heart to know Jesus. Nonetheless the crowd was enormous.  

There were so many people, Jesus had to find a high place, a mountain, so that He could be heard over all the people who were around Him. He was needing to be heard, the crowd was great and so was the noise. He got to the top and found a place to sit down.  It was also the custom for a teacher in this time to sit in a higher place, while those that were to learn from you sat at your feet or in lower place. He also knew He was going to be there a while, I’m sure. He had much He wanted the people to get and understand what and how the Father wanted them to live. God’s Word is to be the rule or ruler to be the measure our lives. We are to live by the rule of The Word of God.

Alongside Him were His disciples. It is comforting to know that we have ones that come alongside us for spiritual and other support we may need. Even though He knew that most of His disciples would one day walk away for a short time, I am sure He was much appreciative to have them there with Him. I know that I am grateful for those that are by my side, physically or in prayer for me. I am grateful to the ones that are concerned for me and my spiritual walk with Jesus.

Matthew 5:2 
    And he opened his mouth, and taught them, saying,

Jesus was sat down and ready to express the Word of God to all that followed. He had an audience like no other. He spoke the truth in a way that if one wanted to understand and know Jesus and the Father, they received and were blessed greatly…lives were changed. Praise God!

Our lives are changed also as we give ourselves to the Word of God. There are so many scriptures that tell us to listen, give heed and to obey the Word of God. It is not a choice, but a command, and instruction for an abundant life in Christ. Can we hear Him speaking to us over the noise in our lives? We need to learn to sit still so that we are able to hear what He is speaking to us.

Numbers 9:8  And Moses said unto them, Stand still, and I will hear what the Lord will command concerning you.

Psalm 4:4  Stand in awe, and sin not: commune with your own heart upon your bed, and be still. Selah.

Psalm 46:10  Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.

Matthew 11:28-30  Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. [29] Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. [30] For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

We need to learn to come to a place everyday and sometimes, many times through the day, and be still before Him so that we can hear, really listen to what He is telling us. Jesus has so much He wants us to know and learn from Him. He loves us beyond any measure we are able to reason with. He wants to set our heart at rest and peace. He desires to give us more joy than we think we deserve. He desires to pour Himself out over us to over an over-flowing. This only comes by listening and giving heed to His Word. This comes by His Word becoming our life. 

Proverbs 8:4-6  Unto you, O men, I call; and my voice is to the sons of man. [5] O ye simple, understand wisdom: and, ye fools, be ye of an understanding heart. [6] Hear; for I will speak of excellent things; and the opening of my lips shall be right things.

Isaiah 51:4  Hearken unto me, my people; and give ear unto me, O my nation: for a law shall proceed from me, and I will make my judgment to rest for a light of the people.

Isaiah 55:3  Incline your ear, and come unto me: hear, and your soul shall live; and I will make an everlasting covenant with you, even the sure mercies of David.

Matthew 13:9  Who hath ears to hear, let him hear.

John 6:63  It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life.

Romans 2:13  (For not the hearers of the law are just before God, but the doers of the law shall be justified.

Hebrews 4:12  For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

James 1:22   But be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves.

Jesus is the Word of God

John 1:1-5   In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. [2] The same was in the beginning with God. [3] All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made. [4] In him was life; and the life was the light of men. [5] And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not.

Lord Jesus I thank you for the opportunity to share Your Word with others. You have blessed me in ways I can not begin to express. I love You and am so grateful daily to experience the love, grace and hope I am able to experience through what You bring me though. You are drawing me into a closer relationship You desire to have with me.   Jesus, I love You and thank You for Your hand in my life, that of my family, others I love and care for and those that so desire to have this intimate relationship with You. Those that long to know You in all that You have and all that You desire to reveal and bless Your people with. Praise, honor and glory be to You my Jesus. Amen.”

I realize I left you with many scriptures. Scripture written out and reading it is more likely to stick with us than if we just write or read the reference. I desire to know what His Word is speaking to me.

Lord bless you and trust to talk to you soon starting in vers 3 of Matthew 5.

I trust you experience, enjoy and walk in the fullness of God’s grace and hope.

Love and Prayers in Jesus.

 

Sit, listen, & learn at Jesus feet

 

 

 
 

 

16 thoughts on “Needing to be heard. (Matthew 5. The Beatitudes)

  1. Pingback: For Disciples Only 042611 « Mennonite Preacher

Comments are closed.