Blessed are the poor in spirit….Matthew 5:3

Matthew 5:3
    Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Many people read and say “happy are the people…”, to be honest there is more to this word “blessed” then to be happy. This word blessed means, supremely blest, fortunate, well off, happy, happier. That is a mouthful and much to wrap ones brain around in just one word.

What Jesus is saying, I believe, is when one is in this place they are not only happy, but content with what they have.

Hebrews 13:5 Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

Luke 3:14  … and be content with your wages.

These ones do not have much and they are NOT going out and about looking for more and how can I get more. More what? More anything…food, houses, clothing, money, cars, notoriety-well known, and the list can go on. They count themselves to be well off. What they have is more than enough.

Now let me explain.

These that are poor in spirit, see their neediness, guilt of wrong doing in their lives, also they see their need for the Redeemer.  These ones recognize their lack and need for dependence upon God. They are humble before God, not proud.

1 Tim. 6:1-12
    Let as many servants as are under the yoke (this is the same word as in Matthew 11:28-30, where Jesus says to “take up my yoke my yoke and learn of me;” also, “my yoke is easy”-light) count their own masters worthy of all honour, that the name of God and his doctrine be not blasphemed. [2] And they that have believing masters, let them not despise them, because they are brethren; but rather do them service, because they are faithful and beloved, partakers of the benefit. These things teach and exhort. 
    [3] If any man teach otherwise, and consent not to wholesome words, even the words of our Lord Jesus Christ, and to the doctrine which is according to godliness; [4] He is proud, [a proud man will cause these things to take place, even unknowingly, around him] knowing nothing, but doting about questions and strifes of words, whereof cometh envy, strife, railings, evil surmisings, [5] Perverse disputings of men of corrupt minds, and destitute of the truth, supposing that gain is godliness: from such withdraw thyself. [6] But godliness with contentment is great gain. [7] For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. [8] And having food and raiment let us be therewith content. [9] But they that will be rich fall into temptation and a snare, and into many foolish and hurtful lusts, which drown men in destruction and perdition. [10] For the love of money is the root of all evil [it doesn’t say having money, but the “love or money.” This is being fond of money, or desiring more of it…aka, coveting money] : which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows. [11] But thou, O man of God, flee these things; and follow after righteousness, godliness, faith, love, patience, meekness. [12] Fight the good fight of faith, lay hold on eternal life, whereunto thou art also called, and hast professed a good profession before many witnesses. [Our desires speak volumes to those around us.]

It doesn’t say “blessed are the rich.” The rich of this world do not see a need in their lives. They think they have it all and if they don’t they just pay for it one way or another…with the mighty dollar. These are proud, self-sufficient people. This may sound harsh, but look at just a few scriptures that speak of this.

Job 20:22 
    In the fulness of his sufficiency he shall be in straits: every hand of the wicked shall come upon him.

A proud man is self-sufficient, having no need for God. Therefore, comes troubles.

Psalm 39:5 
    Behold, thou hast made my days as an handbreadth; and mine age is as nothing before thee: verily every man at his best state is altogether vanity. Selah.

This life we live is a gift, and we squander it by think and using it foolishly. As a Christian we are not our own. Our life is not about me, but about our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

What we can obtain or have  in the flesh will separate us from God and He sees it as is nothing, it is a gross thing to God, I believe.

Proverbs 13:10 
    Only by pride cometh contention: but with the well advised is wisdom.

Proverbs 16:18-19 
    Pride goeth before destruction, and an haughty spirit before a fall. [19] Better it is to be of an humble spirit with the lowly, than to divide the spoil with the proud.

Proverbs 29:23 
    A man’s pride shall bring him low: but honour shall uphold the humble in spirit.

Now look at the other part of these verses that talk about being humble or a usable man will have and be blessed of the Lord.

God is looking for one that is needy for Him in every aspect of their life. God is look for one that is humble, pliable, willing and desirious to be formed and fashioned as it pleases Him.

Romans 12:1-2
    I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. [2] And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

The willingness and desire to give our lives to God, to do with us as He wills, is pleasing to Him.

Here are other scriptures to chew on concerning the poor in spirit-the humble one that is seeking after God.

Psalm 34:18 
    The Lord is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit.

Psalm 39:5
    Behold, thou hast made my days as an handbreadth; and mine age is as nothing before thee: verily every man at his best state is altogether vanity. Selah.

Psalm 51:17
    The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise.

Micah 6:8
    He hath shewed thee, O man, what is good; and what doth the Lord require of thee, but to do justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with thy God?

Philip. 2:3-8
    Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves. [4] Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others. [5] Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus: [6] Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God: [7] But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: [8] And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross.

James 4:10
    Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up.

1 Peter 3:4
    But let it be the hidden man of the heart, in that which is not corruptible, even the ornament of a meek and quiet spirit, which is in the sight of God of great price.

I could comment on each one of these verses, but I will let you sit on these.

The humble or poor in spirit shall, not maybe, but shall inherit the kingdom of heaven.

James 2:5 
    Hearken, my beloved brethren, Hath not God chosen the poor of this world rich in faith, and heirs of the kingdom which he hath promised to them that love him?

The poor in spirit have already entered into the kingdom, they have allowed there lives be a sweet savour unto the Lord. They have acknowledged that they are needy and in need and acceptence of a Savior. These ones have experienced through their suffering and need, the life of Christ manifest through them. As one allows the dealing of God in their lives and accepts all He has for them, good, bad, indifferent, God begins to unveil what He has in store for them in eternity. When one gets a glimpse of what the Lord truly has for them, there is no stopping them no matter their lifes circumstances,  they will run with their whole hearts in seeking the Lord first. Jesus is their life…no matter what may come to them. They have learned to rejoice in all things. This is truly experiencing the heavenlies.

1 Thes. 2:12 
    That ye would walk worthy of God, who hath called you unto his kingdom and glory.

2 Tim. 4:8 
    Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.

This is a promise laid out for all, but what is your heart like? Is it soft and humble to where God can work? Or is it self-sufficient, proud and unmovable?

We all have a choice to make every day, to be humble or to resist the working of God in our lives.

BUT God…(I like that) through His wonderful grace, enables us to endure, to stay under His hand, with joy and gives us hope to look forward to what is waiting for us in eternity. 

Lord bless you until later. I love you and pray for all that may take the time to spend sitting with Jesus and me as He unveils Himself as I go through Matthew 5 and the Beatitudes. May these meager words bless you and stir your hearts to prod you on in your relationship with Jesus. I trust you will see and experience God’s grace and hope through your walk with Him each day.

43 thoughts on “Blessed are the poor in spirit….Matthew 5:3

  1. Wonderful blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics discussed in this article? I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get feedback from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

    Like

  2. hi there!, I love ones writing a whole lot! ratio all of us keep in contact much more regarding your current post with AOL? I need a pro within this home to end my dilemma. May be that’s a person! Looking ahead to fellow a person. Incredibly useful many thanks, I believe your current target audience will likely desire a lot more products similar to this keep up the good work.

    Like

  3. I’m often to blogging and i really appreciate your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and keep checking for brand new information.

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by. I am not sure what you are refering to, but that is ok….John 14:6 “Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” Numbers 23:19 “God is not a man, that he should lie; neither the son of man, that he should repent: hath he said, and shall he not do it? or hath he spoken, and shall he not make it good?” Yes I agree when a lie is spoken it is harder to undue, but hte word of God is true. Psalms 119:160 “Thy word is true from the beginning: and every one of thy righteous judgments endureth for ever.” 2 Timothy 3:16-17 “All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: 17 That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.” Bless you dear one.

      Like

    • I am sorry you are not recieving a decent “pictue” on your notebook. I can not always control that. It depends on servers it goes through and many other factors from what I understand. Keep tryings and I will also try to see what I can find out through my web server. Lord bless you.

      Like

    • Dear One,
      I do thank you oh so much for stopping by pinchofgrace, that in its self is an honor. I am sorry that my site does not look right or load up correctly on your Mac, I will try and look into that. I do hope you will try again. Thank you and God bless you.

      Like

    • Hummmm….. that is a wonderful response. Seriously! What you have read has caused you to think and that is great. I trust ot see you back at pinchofgrace and hopw you will be provoked to thought once agan. I love your response. God bless you dear one.

      Like

    • Thank you for your comment. I do NOT usually allow other websites to promote themselves in this matter, this isnot what it is all about. pinchofgrace.net is about ouir relationship with Jesus, not about material gain. Matthew 6:19-21 NKJV (19 “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; 20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.) What will bring a decent return depends on what you are investing in? So what is your desire of your heart? That is the question ones ought to be asking. A relationship, not religion with Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior or to serve a relationship with and for worldly gain that is corruptable and eventually decay away. Psalms 19:7-10 NLT (7 The instructions of the Lord are perfect, reviving the soul. The decrees of the Lord are trustworthy, making wise the simple. 8 The commandments of the Lord are right, bringing joy to the heart. The commands of the Lord are clear, giving insight for living. 9 Reverence for the Lord is pure, lasting forever. The laws of the Lord are true; each one is fair. 10 They are more desirable than gold, even the finest gold. They are sweeter than honey, even honey dripping from the comb.) God’s Word and His ways are more precious than anything money or it ways can we obtain from in lilke no other manner. So as for your “decent returns, “seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness….” Matthew 6:33

      I trust this has helped anyon that questions our material gain. there is nothing wrong with money and having it, but it is what the hearts desire is.

      Thank you and God bless you all.

      Like

  4. As soon as I originally left a comment I clicked on the “Notify me any time new comments are added” checkbox and now every time a comment is added I receive four emails with the exact same comment.

    Like

    • Praise the Lord, I am glad you think this has been interesting to you. It is an honor to spark or stir an interest in one to see the Lord…even in interesting. Interesting is a word tht sparks thought and I want ones to give thought in the things of the Lord Jesus. I trust through the meager words I am able to put down weill bless those that read them. It is the Lord Jesus Who sparks interest and that is what I am most grateful for. This blog is His not mine. I give Him the credit for touching people hearts and raising interest in the Word of God and Him. God bless you and I trust you will stop by and chat with me again at pinchofgrace. 🙂

      Like

  5. What a great web log. I spend hours on the net reading blogs, about tons of various subjects. I have to first of all give praise to whoever created your theme and second of all to you for writing what i can only describe as an fabulous article. I honestly believe there is a skill to writing articles that only very few posses and honestly you got it. The combining of demonstrative and upper-class content is by all odds super rare with the astronomic amount of blogs on the cyberspace.

    Like

    • Oh my! What a wonderful compliment. It has been an honor and privilge to sit down and share what God has blessed me with. I don’t worry if thre a re situations that take place and to share them with ones out there. I prayed for quite a while if I should start ablog or not. I wanted to but I wanted it to bring glory to the Lord. It is the Lord that lead me to share the theme…this is where He has brought me and shown me many things…through His grace, that is so amazing to be encompasssed in and the hope He ALWATYS provides daily for me (us). I just write what I feel the Lord is showing me and then in return I share with you out there. This is truly Gods doing not mine. I pray over this each time I sit at the computer as thought are written. Again I thank you for checking in on pinchofgrace and trust you will return again and sit a spell and be blessed in the Lord. God bless you.

      Like

  6. Pingback: Love and be not deceived « Living Fountains

Comments are closed.