Your Prayers Are Precious!

I thank you for all your prayers this past week or so. Many here at my home church and others like yourselves are and still, praying for my family.

For an update on my mom, she did not have blood clot behind her eye, she had a torn retina. Monday she went for the doctors appointment and Tuesday is when they found the torn retina. They did surgery on it, she did fine and was on her way home Wednesday afternoon after the follow-up.

In the meantime on Monday afternoon, my brother had to call an ambulance for my dad. They had to take him to Silver City, NM (closest hospital, 2-1/2 away). While evaluating him, they were not sure what was going on, so kept him over night in the ER. My brother went to get him Tuesday and he say no change in him. He was very agitated, jerked his arms and legs…complained he could not stop the jerking. They decided to keep and admit him for further test. With a CT scan they said he had another stroke (#3). Today my sister and mom got there and determined to find out what was going on…push fr an MRI and results will be there in the AM tomorrow. Yes he had a stroke. Mom had saw his last 2 and has lived with him for 50 years and my sister as caregiver for 3 years…they know dad’s behavior and things were not right.

It looks like he will need to go into the nursing home here in Safford. He is being “labeled-total care”. He can feed himself, some, but not able to dress or transfer himself from place to place. This looks like it will take place Saturday.

These things were not in our plans for our (my) folks. We are suppose to take care of them and yet we can’t. I care for my dad about a week of each month, sometimes more and it is getting harder to help him. Yu feel as if it shouldn’t be this way. We should be able to care for them. Yet I know by many and good counsel there are times when family can not care for their loved ones. My heart just aches for them.

So my plea is that you would continue to hold us up in your prayers.

A few verses that have come to mind today are….

1 Cor. 10:13 
    There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.

This isn’t new to the Lord. He knows all about it all the “wherefores” and “wherewithals.” Jesus knows what we need and what tools to work the eternal work in us, we don’t…yes naturally speaking I would choose other means, BUT God knows what is right and just for me…for my family.

2 Cor. 4:7-18
    But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us. [8] We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; [9] Persecuted, but not forsaken; cast down, but not destroyed; [10] Always bearing about in the body the dying of the Lord Jesus, that the life also of Jesus might be made manifest in our body. [11] For we which live are alway delivered unto death for Jesus’ sake, that the life also of Jesus might be made manifest in our mortal flesh. [12] So then death worketh in us, but life in you. [13] We having the same spirit of faith, according as it is written, I believed, and therefore have I spoken; we also believe, and therefore speak; [14] Knowing that he which raised up the Lord Jesus shall raise up us also by Jesus, and shall present us with you. [15] For all things are for your sakes, that the abundant grace might through the thanksgiving of many redound to the glory of God. [16] For which cause we faint not; but though our outward man perish, yet the inward man is renewed day by day. [17] For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory; [18] While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.

So, if this is what He chooses for us, I say, “Bless You Lord. You know and I will come before You laying my all at Your feet moment by moment, because I can’t seem to see much farther than that.” I know He is there for me (us). I will praise Him, I will praise Him.

This is an eternal work that is being dine here. It may hurt, you might say…the out come far out weighs the here and now. In Romans 8:36 it says we are like sheep to the slaughter. In Galatians 2:20 says I was crucified with Christ…I am to be dead to the “flesh.” This is a work that is being done to glorify Him, my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, my bridegroom to be. (2 Timothy 2:10-12)

I praise You my Jesus for You are my God and You have shown me hope through Your grace and I am so grateful.

