Blessed are the meek….Matthew 5:5

My oh, my goodness, where have the days anad weeks and months gone.

Good day, it is so good to be back with you. There are still many family difficulties going on, but I need to take the time and stay with this study in Matthew 5 and the Beatitudes.

I have always thought it strange for this passage, called the “Beatitudes”.

Happy and blessed are the meek. by Candy Clonts

First of all the list, if you will, that Jesus is giving us here in these verses are ATTITUDES that are to BE a way of life ro us. These are attributes that the Lord displays and lives to show us how we ought to live. So in my way of thinking we need to allow the ATTITUDES BE in us also, aka, the ‘BEATITUDES”. It my seem a bit corny, but it works for me to understand it.

Matthew 5:5 
Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.

Meekness is an attitude that can only be worked in us by a relationship with Jesus.

Matthew 11:29
Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.

We are to take the yoke of Christ upon our self so that we can learn of Him. We are to learn of His very character, and that is a meek, gentle and quiet spirit. that yoke means to join up with, to couple with as in servitude. Jesus was a servant to mankind. Are we wiling to serve others with humility, not thinking about self, but the one you are serving and what is important to them. We always, as human beings put our needs before the needs of others. It is natural and satans way of thinking, not Gods.

This way of life only comes by joining up with Jesus and learning His very character.

2 Corinthians 10:5
Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;

We need to get rid of and do away with all that is going to lift its ugly head against what the Lord has for us and desires of us. These things of the flesh draw  us away from the Lord and our hearts desire is to draw closer to Him, so let us get rid of every thing that resembles the acts of the flesh…the things that draw and lead us away for Him.

So how do we do this….

Romans 13:14 
But put ye on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make not provision for the flesh, to fulfil the lusts thereof. (Col. 3:12)

Only by putting on Christ are we able to against our fleshly desires and wants. Just as we put on our clothing each morning,, in like manner we are to “put on Christ”. We get into His word, pray and meditate on Him and what we have read. God’s word is what washes our hearts and minds.

Ephesians 5:26
That he might sanctify and cleanse it with the washing of water by the word,

It is the word of God that cleanses us. God’s word is what will create in us His way of life and His attitudes and character of life.

 Romans 13:11-14 (Amplified Bible
Besides this you know what [a critical] hour this is, how it is high time now for you to wake up out of your sleep (rouse to reality). For salvation (final deliverance) is nearer to us now than when we first believed (adhered to, trusted in, and relied on Christ, the Messiah). 12 The night is far gone and the day is almost here. Let us then drop (put off, fling away) the works and deeds of darkness and put on the [full] armor of light. 13 Let us live and conduct ourselves honorably and becomingly as in the [open light of] day, not in reveling (carousing) and drunkenness, not in immorality and debauchery (sensuality and licentiousness), not in quarreling and jealousy. 14 But clothe yourself with the Lord Jesus Christ (the Messiah), and make no provision for [indulging] the flesh [put a stop to thinking about the evil cravings of your physical nature] to [gratify its] desires (lusts).

Only the meek, humble, gentle servant will want to put on Christ and put off the ways of this world.

In Numbers 12:3, that Moses was very meek above all other men. Why? He had a relationship with God.

Some may think meekness is weakness. Oh my! just the opposite. Take a look at Mores or the Lord Jesus. They were both meek, not weak. Meek in Spirit and weak in flesh. Meek and lowly in their self-sufficiency. Thier weakness was not in the Spirit of the Lord. Can you see the difference. Strong men and women in the faith, that are led by the Spirit of God are meek not proud and haughty in self.

Meekness comes through obedience to the Lord and His word. 

1 Peter 1:22
Seeing ye have purified your souls in obeying the truth through the Spirit unto unfeigned (sincere, without hypocrisy) love of the brethren, see that ye love one another with a pure heart fervently (with intent, without ceasing):

These meek will inherit the earth. But not as one may think to inherit a possession.

Israel inherited the earth by their obedience, and Israel will once again inherit the earth that God has promised, but this is different.

How?

The earth speaks of land, as Israel was told in Gen. 15:7, 8, 18-21; Num. 34; Duet. 11:23-25; Joshua 1:3-4, and others. 

The earth also speaks of producing fruit. Through our obedience to the Spirit we produce spiritual fruit while we are still here on earth. Our true reward is when the Lord Jesus comes to catch His people away to His heavenly kingdom. But for now, through our obedience as we give ourselves to Christ we are blessed with spiritual blessing. These spiritual blessing are what we experience every day as we yield our lives to the Lord. Such as, just to name a few: joy, peace, love, patience, seeking ones come to Christ as Savior, people growing and desiring more of a relationship with Christ, longsuffering, confession, reconciliation…and oh so much more as one yields their life unto the Lord.

May the grace and hope we have in Christ Jesus encourage and strengthen you day by day as you yield your life to Him; as you and I deny ourselves of all earthly desires so that we may please our Lord and coming King and Bridegroom.

I love you and I am so glad to be back with you all. I thank you all for prayers during my absence. God has truly blessed and delivered my family and myself in so many way these past months. I praise Him and give Him all the honor and glory for His hand at work in us. He is my hope!

51 thoughts on “Blessed are the meek….Matthew 5:5

  1. I like this blog very much, Its a really nice post to read and incur info. “Whenever I hear, ‘It can’t be done,’ I know I’m close to success.” by Michael Flatley.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Fruits Of The Spirit (Love, Joy, Peace, Long Suffering, Gentleness, Goodness, Faith, Meekness, Self Control) | bummyla

  3. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

    Like

  4. Excellent post here! This has a lot of information! You can definitely tell you spent a lot of time on your blog! If you have any tips can you help me out with mine?

    Like

    • Many thanks and blessing to you. I am honored to have you stop by pinchofgrace. Thank you for the compliment also on the blog site itself. I am very new at this and have enjoyed learning how to use it to the best of what I am able to find. My tips to anyone starting a blog and trying to use it…is first to check out the different websites that help you to set one up; what do they offer and how helpful with they be to you when you need help. Second is find what you like, play with it and just have fun with what you enjoy doing. Lord bless you and hoping to see you around for another visit.

      Like

    • Flattering compliment and honored. I feel the Lord has blessed me with this blog. I prayed concerning setting it, what to do with it and what to write. I pray for each post and the readers. So, I give the honor back to the Lord for each page I post and each response I recieve. Some like and some don’t, tha tis all right. I am learning about the blog, what to write, I am also learning about people, and most of all I amlearning more about my Jesus AND that is the greatest joy here. Knowing the Lord Jesus. I also have the privilege to hear from and experience what others may be recieving from the Lord. Thank you again for your kind words and many blessing to you as you seek the Lord.

      Like

  5. After reading Blessed are the meek….Matthew 5:5 pinchofgrace I decided to post a nice note for author. Keep up the great work, I want to read soon similar articles. Also your site loads up very fast!

    Like

    • Dear One,
      Oh my heavens, thank you. What a blessing to hear such a great compiment. I am blest and grateful that you stopped by at pinchofgrace and God blest you by mere words. I trust to see you back at pinchofgrace. God bless you.

      Like

    • God is precious. His love is great and always there for us. His Word is awesome and we have be blessed abundantly through it. This is one of the reasons I prayed and sought the Lord in stating this blog…to share His Word as I look and study it. I have been so blessed and I desire for others to experience the wonderful blessings He has for them through His word also. Praise God, I give Him the glory as ones come and sit a spell with me at Pinch of Grace, because you are not only sitting with me but I trust Jesus is revealing Himself through the words that are put down on the pages. Many blessing to you and thank you for allowing Jesus and I to be a part of your day. I look forward to heaering from you again. God bless you dear one.

      Like

  6. Pingback: Lord I Need You To Take Away The Hurt; So That I Can Truly Love Those Who Hate Me

    • What a blessing for you to stop by and visit. It is an honot to know the Lord speaks to one, how it can bless another. Thank you for the great compliment to add my post to your article. Lord bless you and trust you will stop in again and maybe chat a bit. Blessings to you, dear one.

      Like

    • Thank you Dear One. I appreciate you stopping by pinchofgrace and trust you come back and be blessed once again. I have been gone and will be so for a bit longer. I have missed my studies and writing. I am lookiing forward to getting back to it. Again I appricate you stopping by, I would like to know who you are beside what your website is. God bless you…until next time.

      Like

        • Thank you for your visit at pinchofgrace, what an honor. I am blessed everyday to see what the Lord brings my way. His touch in our life is so precious. Jesus desires us to have a heart like HIs and it only comes by sitting at His feet and learning of HIm. I trust I will learn this as Mary did and also as He commands us to do so in Mat 11:28-30. Lord bless you and I look forward to see you again.

          Like

        • Blessings and thank you for your gacious words. God is the one that has given me what to write and I am only a vessell, and trusting to be used for His glory and His glory alone. I thank you for your visit and trust to see you stop by again. Many blessing to you as you seek Jesus for your needs.

          Like

  7. Pingback: The Mountain of God « Inspirational Matters

    • Thank you Dear One. I appreciate you stopping by pinchofgrace and trust you come back and be blessed once again. It is an honor you have selected one of my articles to be included with what you have written. I have been gone and will be so for a bit longer. I have missed my studies and writing. I am lookiing forward to getting back to it. God bless you.

      Like

  8. Pingback: The Beatitudes according to a Fallen World « Anchor for the Soul

  9. Pingback: Jan van Ruusbroec – Gentleness as a Virture | Unsettled Christianity

  10. Pingback: A Servant’s Heart « It Just Dawned On Me

Comments are closed.