Wanted to share a quick thought with you.

2 Corinthians 4:18
While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.

How many times a day do we wish for something different? How often are we indifferent to life or others because of our situation or circumstances? You just want to fit in, blend in, scream “let me off this merry-go-round” or make others happy so maybe you’ll be happy. Ever feel like this? We want to wear a mask of sorts thinking it will help, but it doesn’t.

Trying to blend in, but look out, it will come back and "bite you". We are not part of this world, so don't try to blend in. John 15:18-19

I think we all go through these things once in a while.

The past few days have been this way for me. But why?

I will tell you why! My eyes are not in focus. I have had to start wearing glasses this past year. I am now 50 and have not had any trouble with reading or any other type of things to do with my sight, until this past year. Bummer! Sometimes it makes me feel old, because I have to wear glasses. But they are on the side of stylish, my 14-year-old daughter picked them out….how cool is that. She likes them on me. Yes! A big score for mom. 🙂 When I don’t wear my glasses when I read, I struggle, things are a bit too blurred. When I get tired, I need them to see more clearly, again things get a little blurred.

I need to learn to wear my glasses all the time it would make things I need to read and see a lot better. But……I choose to wear them only when I feel I need to. Bad idea. When I do this, I wear them less and less. They need to stay on my face.

This is what the Lord is showing me, I need to get back into focus…with Him. Put HIm on. (Romans 13:14; Galations 3:17) I am looking at everyday life and it can be overwhelming at times. Life has been overwhelming. From Thanksgiving, and things are still coming and going, life is “BUSY”.  I dislike that word…busy. Yes we do get where we have much on our plates, but God has said He will not give us more than we can do/handle. (1 Corinthians 10:13) Oh how we lose sight of Him at times. Busy is a word we use when we become overwhelmed. God does not want us to be overwhelmed. He wants us to rest in Him. He wants us to stop looking on the things that are temporary.  Why do I lose sight of Him? I put something in front of Him and my vision is squed. Jesus is still there but my focal point has changed and it is not on Him. The things I put in front of the Lord will all vanish as a vapor sooner or later, they are temporary. They are the cares of this life. John chapter 6 talks about these things. His answer is to seek the kingdom of God first; John 6:33.

Psalms 143:4-6

My prayer is my eyes would be readjusted. I would learn to wear my glasses all day, everyday. (Seek the Lord and His things.) I do not want my focus to be off. If it is off, then I am not pleasing to the Lord. So Lord I am asking that I would please you and for Your forgiveness as I have  allowed myself to be overwhelmed, not looking to You for my rest. I pray Lord help me to set my affections, my most inner being and desires on You..on Your things, the things that concern You the most, not my ‘stuff”. (Colossian 3:2) You have said You will take care of all my ‘stuff’, (1 Peter 5:7; Isaiah 55:8) so Lord I am again laying these at your feet. (Lukek 10:38-42; Matthew 11:28-30) Teach me, show me to rest in You, to trust You and be Yours. (Psalms 25:40) I am not my own, I’m Yours. Take me and lead me in Your way O my Lord. I praise You and thank You. You are faithful and just to remind me and get after me when I need it. I love you Jesus, You are my hope, and life. Your grace, love mercy is overwhelming and that is a good thing. These out weigh all the “stuff” of like. Thank you my Jesus. You love me enough to keep bringing these things around my way.

May you be blessed, reassured in the hope of Christ as He showers His grace on you every moment of every day.

 

Resting in the Lord.

One thought on “Wanted to share a quick thought with you.

  1. Love the new look!

    Great post. Thanks Pinch of Grace for all your hard work here and staying focused for our sakes. May God bless you with his healing power.-watw

    Like

Comments are closed.