WHY IS CHURCH BENEFICIAL OR IMPORTANT? Part 2

Why go to church?

What benefit is there in going to church? If I start going I will be expected to go all the time? Do I make my kids go with me? My kids don’t want to go so what do I do? It is just to big of a hassle to get everyone ready on time. I don’t have the right clothes to go to church. People are to stuffy at church. People aren’t friendly. I feel uncomfortable in church. Church makes my kids uncomfortable. I was forced as a kid, so I am not going to make my kids go, they can make that decision for themselves when they want to. Etc…ect…ect!

I know I defiantly can not answer all your answers, or to the ones is just stated, but I will tell you how I feel about the benefits and importance of going to church.

The bottom line is we just don’t want to go, we don’t want to put out the effort. When you know God desires something from you and it is in His Word, but don’t do it, we are serving another god. That god could be fishing, hunting, sporting events, it’s the only you have off work or you worked last night or have to work Sunday morning, yada, yada….the excuses go on and on…ulimately you have become the god of your life and you are demonstrating it to your family also. 

Watching a soccer game. Photo by Candy Clonts

Let’s look at church as a ball game. I am sure many of you have heard this analogy before, so bear with me.

I can’t or will not go to the ball game or any other sporting event because:  they ask for money; I sat with people who talked too much; the people weren’t friendly; the seats were too hard; the coach wouldn’t take my advice; someone gave my kid a dirty look; the referee made some bad calls; some people cared more about what they looked like and didn’t watch the game; some of the games go into over time, and I’ll get home late; the band played songs I didn’t know; the band was so loud I could hear myself think; the person behind us was to loud; too many games just don’t fit into my schedule; my parents made me watch too many games; or what about this one, I’ve read the rule book and I am tired or the coach thinking he knows it all. So now I don’t take my kids to any more sporting events so they can make up their minds to what they would like to play, watch or go to on their own.

Sounds rather ridiculous to talk like that over ball games or other sports, doesn’t it? But people do this time and time again concerning church. What you, as a parent, sees as important so will your kids. Don’t tell them one thing and do another, they will see right through your hypocrisy. Telling your kids the importance of God and not giving them the advantage of going, they will see the lie you are living.

1 John 1:5-7
5 This then is the message which we have heard of him, and declare unto you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all. 6 If we say that we have fellowship with him, and walk in darkness, we lie, and do not the truth: 7 But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin.

Most churches have a morning and evening service, make one of them a priority to take your children. If you work in the morning take them to the evening service. If you worked that night, push yourself to give them the next few hours with you in church or go to the evening service. beside the Sunday Services most churches have mid-week services also.

You say you’ll sen them with some you know that goes to a good church, ok. If you send them with someone else they will more than likely lose interest and stop going. But wait let them choose what they want later. Later usually never comes. God is then left out of every member of the families lives.

So you make your kids go, big deal, they will get over it. More than likely they will thank you later. Many of you were made to go to church, nothing happened. Ya, there were times, a few years or so maybe, that ones went to church because “they were made to.” They were not hurt by the experience. Most likely they were more blessed by the Lord and what went on, then they would admit.

Isaiah 55:6-7
6 Seek ye the Lord while he may be found, call ye upon him while he is near: 7 Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts: and let him return unto the Lord, and he will have mercy upon him; and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon.

Jeremiah 29:13
13 And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart

No, I haven’t fully answered the question to “Why church is so important?” Hang on I will in my next post.

Until later, Lord bless you and trusting you experience the hope and grace only found in Jesus.

Love and Prays to you all.

2 thoughts on “WHY IS CHURCH BENEFICIAL OR IMPORTANT? Part 2

  1. Great post, we are blessed to have been led to a church that is really family focussed and it makes it very easy to go to church, there are few excuses to attend on a Sunday. My children are still toddlers, so it’s a little easier, but the groups provided for the youth are paramount to the church as they are our future.
    The best thing about our church is that my children, my excitable, energetic, lively and sometimes disobedient children, are not expected to sit still on our laps during the first part of the service (before their pre-school). It makes it easier, they can laugh and sing and dance during worship and that makes church fun and exciting for them .A place where they can go and have fun and learn about God with their friends.
    It’s so important to set an example to our children and such a blessing we’ve been given the responsibility..
    Nice on pinchofgrace

    Like

    • It is exciting to go to church AND to look forward to it. So many people know to go to church and do so, but don’t look forward to it for whatever reason. God wants to find a church we can call home. Not to just be comfortable, that is the least He wants, but a church where He can meet with you and You with Him. A place where the Word is taught and challenges the heart and life of people. Jesus said “suffer not the little children to come unto me.” He knows what children are like. Yet we also have the resposiblity to begin training them at a young age to be respectful, to listen, pay attention….this all takes time. We need to be patient with one another. Let the kids worship the Lord, make them be quiet and they won’t wanto worship as they get older. We teach them little by little jsut as the Lord does with us. It is a blessing, yet an awesome responiblity to raise our children in chirch an din the precepts of the Lord. God bless you dear one.

      Like

Comments are closed.