What Will I Allow Jesus To Do In My Life? part 1

*This is a repost. I was looking over some older posts and felt I would share a few with you once again. (March 2, 2011)

It is good to chat with you today.

I have been away for a while and I have missed being at my computer, sitting and chatting with you.

Yesterday I witnessed something that will stick in my mind for some time. I would like to share my thoughts and a few scriptures with you.

I want off start by saying how precious our relationship with Jesus needs to be to us. How much time do I put into knowing and knowing who Jesus is and wants for me? Do I allow Him to do whatever He wants to do with me? Will I allow Him to put in a place of confinement, will I allow Him to put restraints on my life? Will I ALLOW HIM FREE ACESSESS TO EVERY PART OF ME…MY HEART, MIND, SOUL AND BODY, TO MY FAMILY, JOB, CHURCH, FRIENDS, CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN? Will I ALLOW Jesus to…….? ALLOW! YES, ALLOW HIM FREE REIGN IN ME!

Allow means – To let; permit; agree to; consent to; endorse; approve; authorize; give the fo ahead to do; give ones (my) blessing to go through with.

Philip. 2:13 For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure. I’ll get back to this scripture in a bit. 🙂

Yesterday, I saw a very vivid picture of what it would be like to get out of the protection and place that God has put me. It is also so very important to be like-minded and have and hold fellow Christians that you can rely on in time of ANY need.

I was taking my niece to school and on the way home I saw a crow taunting a mouse. I could not see what the crow was doing, but he was up in some kind of ruckus. As I approached I could see some little something squirming on the ground. I got closer and the crow flew off. I slowed down to see what it was and there was “Oh, Stewart,” yes, that is what I thought. It was a little gray mouse. It was goin’ ’round in circles, poor little thing. (sigh!) I am not one to hurt a mouse unless possibly it’s in my house, they do have their purpose in life to keep down other varmints, but not in my house…As bad as it sounds I thought (you know how your brain works faster than time, this is what took place) “how can I put him out of his misery before that crow comes back.” Kind of sad to say, I didn’t want that crow to get to “Stewart,” I mean the mouse. I believe I have felt in some of the ways as that mouse being taunted by that crow. I was at a stop sign and had a car behind me, so I needed to get past the sign. I did so and pulled off, I am still watching for the crow to return. As I watch, during this short span of time, the mouse seemed to come to his senses and began to crawl, not run or quickly scurry for his life, but crawl across the road. CRAWL! I’m thinkin’. “please run little guy.” (Most of the time I am not this ridiculous over these type of critters, you can ask anyone that knows me. They are :/…like ick!) I am now flinging my car door open and trying to yell “NO!”…I see the crow swooping back down. That mean ol’ crow just looked and me as he played and taunted that mouse with a peck and a jab with “its” claw…”it” grabbed the mouse in its talons and flew away. Not a single thing I could do. Some would say that is “Mother Nature“, but It is lesson embedded in my mind.

Drawing by Candy Clonts

Satan is just like that ol’ crow, BUT WORSE!

 Now back to the verse in Philippians.

Philip. 2:13-16 (New Living Translation) For God is working in you, giving you the desire to obey him and the power to do what pleases (his good pleasure) him.  [14] In everything you do, stay away from complaining and arguing, [15] so that no one can speak a word of blame against you. You are to live clean, innocent lives as children of God in a dark world full of crooked and perverse people. Let your lives shine brightly before them. [16] Hold tightly to the word of life, so that when Christ returns, I will be proud that I did not lose the race and that my work was not useless.

The Lord has not left us alone to do His will, we may struggle, but why complain, argue, blame other others or circumstances? God has given us Jesus and He wants to come alongside us and help. Jesus helps us want to obey Him (do what is right) and then gives us the power  (His ability and power to be ours from Him) to do what He wants. We don’t always want to obey or do what’s right, but if we ask the Lord to give us that desire He will. The secret to a changed life is to submit to (ALLOW) God’s control and let (ALLOW) him to work. Next time, ask God to help you to want to do what He wants you or I to do.

This is to be part one of “What will I allow Jesus to do in my life?” The Lord has given me a few more thoughts, but I will finish with them and share them tomorrow.

I love you and many prayers to you in that you will experience God’s beautiful grace and reach forward for the hope that is there for the taking now.

God bless you.

