Hard Times vs God’s Grace

 

Grace is in the midst of all these, in comparison it is greater in size than all the others. Why should we doubt Gods grace for us?

 

Why “Hard Times”? Because we need them. Hard times build our relationship with Jesus and that is the best answer there is. I could give you a few more, but what else do we want? It is all out of love and DO NOT — NEVER think any differently.

Twitted by-Jenn Helvering “No one enters into the real joy of the Lord in spite of the hard times – but squarely through the door of the hard times.” Ann Voskamp

“The story of every great Christian achievement is the history of answered prayer.” –E. M. Bounds  

LONG STORY SHORT…This was a conversation between a friend and me. She, let’s call her Josephine, suffers from many physical issues, more than any of us would like to count, and has for many years. I have recently developed some of my own physical problems. I have had migraines off and on for many years. I have RLS (restless leg syndrome), diagnosed six years ago, in both cases I need to take medication for to help regulate and keep under control. Now I have been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. Some days are than others while others I deal with pain from this. These are few in comparison to my dear friend. Pray for her. Josephine will be making the third trip to Mayo Clinic in a few weeks–for the second time in the past few years.    
 
YourFunnyPics.com | For You
In comparison I felt very small in talking with this friend about my pain and ailments. I know we are not to compare ourselves to one another, I have watched her for years and my heart aches for Josephine and her family. God has been so awesome and totally there for her and met her coming and going; time and time again. The Lord is precious. But I shared these things with her because I know she is a prayer warrior and loves me.
 
“OKAY…so we pray and pray some more!!!! Sometimes it is like WHY? Just more “STUFF.” BUT GOD…….!!! I know you have always said if it weren’t for these things you would not have the relationship with the Lord as you do….sometimes we t…hink….but that is where we get into trouble…we think too much. Pray for me in this area…I feel foolish…..to say anything because my pain and physical issues are nothing in comparison…I feel as if I can’t some days…BUT I know the Lord is allowing this for His glory and to draw me closer to Him also. Everyday is a different day, but all with pain to one degree or another. Even though I’ve been out with my sis today it has been a tough one. blah-blah— I’m trusting the Lord for peace and freedom from the frustration of it and to go beyond the pain. He will get me there, because I know I can not. He is faithful. Ok I have been a waa-waa long enough. Trusting to see you in a while. I guess I say these things because you have been there…and I know you will pray. Thank you for listening.”
 
I am grateful for friends. I am grateful for those God puts in our paths to share with and will pray for us.
 
Yes the Lord could choose to heal me and my friend. But He has not.
 
Romans 9:20-22 (Amplified) 
But who are you, a mere man, to criticize and contradict and answer back to God? Will what is formed say to him that formed it, Why have you made me thus? 21 Has the potter no right over the clay, to make out of the same mass (lump) one vessel for beauty and distinction and honorable use, and another for menial or ignoble and dishonorable use? 22 What if God, although fully intending to show [the awfulness of] His wrath and to make known His power and authority, has tolerated with much patience the vessels (objects) of [His] anger which are ripe for destruction?
 
Jeremiah 18:3-6 (KJV) 
Then I went down to the potter’s house, and, behold, he wrought a work on the wheels. 4 And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter: so he made it again another vessel, as seemed good to the potter to make it. 5 Then the word of the Lord came to me, saying, 6 O house of Israel (Candy), cannot I do with you as this potter? saith the Lord. Behold, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are ye in mine hand, O house of Israel (Candy). 

These verses above should end and settle my (our) complaining…but it more than likely will recur. 😦
 
“Please help my lack of faith Lord.”
 
2 Corinthians 12:8-10 (KJV)
For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me. 9 And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

It doesn’t matter how many times we pray, we continue to pray and Gods grace is continually revealed to us every day. God NEVER tires of our pressing in for His help, direction, will, etc in our lives. He is not like the unjust judge who became weary of listening to the woman and her complaint. (Luke 18:1-8) God’s grace is more than enough. It is everything in every situation. Grace gives me hope. Because this grace of God is my strength. I may not be able to do a few things…big deal…but it is the power and Spirit of God that works…not the ability and ways of Candy. So if I need to go through difficult issues of life and hard times, so be it, they will only show and reveal more of Jesus. Why? It is He who will get me through and I trust as I rely on Him He will be the one that shines through not me. I have nothing to offer anyone at anytime or anyplace. It is only Jesus by and through His Spirit, can a man, woman or child be touched.

2 Corinthians 12:8-10 (Amplified Bible)
Three times I called upon the Lord and besought [Him] about this and begged that it might depart from me; 9 But He said to me, My grace (My favor and loving-kindness and mercy) is enough for you [sufficient against any danger and enables you to bear the trouble manfully]; for My strength and power are made perfect (fulfilled and completed) and show themselves most effective in [your] weakness. Therefore, I will all the more gladly glory in my weaknesses and infirmities, that the strength and power of Christ (the Messiah) may rest (yes, may pitch a tent over and dwell) upon me! 10 So for the sake of Christ, I am well pleased and take pleasure in infirmities, insults, hardships, persecutions, perplexities and distresses; for when I am weak [in human strength], then am I [truly] strong (able, powerful in divine strength).

These difficulties are to draw me closer to Jesus and they are for His glory. These issues are not about me, but about Christ. So many times, even us Christians, we get this backwards…What about me? Why? We just left Jesus out of the equation of our lives and He has everything to do with it. EVERYTHING!

2 Corinthians 4:15-18 (Amplified Bible)
For all [these] things are [taking place] for your sake, so that the more grace (divine favor and spiritual blessing) extends to more and more people and multiplies through the many, the more thanksgiving may increase [and redound] to the glory of God. 16 Therefore we do not become discouraged (utterly spiritless, exhausted, and wearied out through fear). Though our outer man is [progressively] decaying and wasting away, yet our inner self is being [progressively] renewed day after day. 17 For our light, momentary affliction (this slight distress of the passing hour) is ever more and more abundantly preparing and producing and achieving for us an everlasting weight of glory [beyond all measure, excessively surpassing all comparisons and all calculations, a vast and transcendent glory and blessedness never to cease!], 18 Since we consider and look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen; for the things that are visible are temporal (brief and fleeting), but the things that are invisible are deathless and everlasting.

These issues are temporary. These issue are to draw me (us) closer to the Lord.

So what is it I am really focusing on? The here and now or the BIGGER picture and what the Lord is doing to get me (you) ready for His coming…ETERNITY.

I thank You, praise You and love You, Lord Jesus; my Saviour, Friend; Companion; Master; Creator; Love (so much more) and Bridegroom to be (said in faith)…for the hard times that have come my way. You have hand chosen each and every detail that touches me. They are perfect. They are perfect because it is what draws me to you. I can get better acquainted with You or I can get bitter toward You. I choose to be acquainted with You. To know You as You desire to know me. You desire fellowship with me. Draw into this relationship by any means. Do not spare for my crying, Lord. Continue to pursue me at all cost. You are my hope and desire Lord Jesus. You and in You alone!

God bless you all and I will be talking to you again soon. 🙂

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hard Times vs God’s Grace

  1. Pingback: Resources for Romans 9:20 - 22

Comments are closed.