Hard Times Bring Blessings and Grace

Psalms 40:4-5
Blessed is that man (woman or child :)) that maketh the Lord his trust, and respecteth not the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies. 5 Many, O Lord my God, are thy wonderful works which thou hast done, and thy thoughts which are to us-ward: they cannot be reckoned up in order unto thee: if I would declare and speak of them, they are more than can be numbered.

Yesterday I shared with you a conversation I had with a friend concerning our “infirmities.” We emailed this back and forth to each other.

I love my friend “Josephine.” She is such a blessing, full of compassion and love for others.

I had left off with asking her to pray for me and this was her reply to me:

“And yes, you know I will pray…with understanding and compassion. Pain is pain and it doesn’t matter the level or intensity.You hurt and that is what is important. To me, it is merely a reminder, a resolve, that Jesus alone is all that matters and it always puts me in that place of “weakness” and then I experience His divine grace to get me through each day. The other day, I went to see “Jackie” in hospital. Oh I did not feel like going cause the pain was pretty bad. Then I feel like the Holy Spirit spoke gently, quietly…”Jesus loves that lady…and that is the all consuming importance..not me….Him and “Jackie”. It was neat..during that time with her, I simply do NOT remember any pain or even thinking about it. It always helps me on my worse day, to dress up, makeup and all, (ewww) and reach out to someone or do something for my husband and daughter. (now you know my secret when I am super dressed up at the store…bad bad bad bad bad pain day!) Then Candy, there are days, I simply have to lay down, but I know He gives me those kind of days to rest and be still with Him. He will guide you, that much I know because you want Him so. This pain is a precious tool sent from the Almighty to dress you in a bridal gown for Him! I love you dear sister.”

The Lord is truly amazing to meet us where we are.

We need to get our thoughts off ourselves and onto Jesus and others. We are not giving glory to Jesus by sitting or lying around thinking “woe is me….poor me….why this Lord.” How pitiful we can be.

I don’t know why the Lord choses to use on tool over another, as He works in people’s lives, but that is His business and not mine.

Isaiah 55:8-13
For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. 9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts. 10 For as the rain cometh down, and the snow from heaven, and returneth not thither, but watereth the earth, and maketh it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater: 11 So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it. 12 For ye shall go out with joy, and be led forth with peace: the mountains and the hills shall break forth before you into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands. 13 Instead of the thorn shall come up the fir tree, and instead of the brier shall come up the myrtle tree: and it shall be to the Lord for a name, for an everlasting sign that shall not be cut off.

The Lord is so good. He meets me where I am and in the place He has allowed me to be. He has placed me just where He wants me. I don’t want to be in any other place than where Jesus wants me. I do not want to do, act, react, say or not say anything that will not please Him.

Psalms 119:12 (KJV)
Blessed art thou, O Lord: teach me thy statutes.

Psalms 119:64-68 (KJV)
The earth, O Lord, is full of thy mercy: teach me thy statutes. 65 Thou hast dealt well with thy servant, O Lord, according unto thy word. 66 Teach me good judgment and knowledge: for I have believed thy commandments. 67 Before I was afflicted I went astray: but now have I kept thy word. 68 Thou art good, and doest good; teach me thy statutes.

Psalms 119:107-109 (KJV)
I am afflicted very much: quicken (make me alive) me, O Lord, according unto thy word. 108 Accept, I beseech thee, the freewill offerings of my mouth, O Lord, and teach me thy judgments. 109 My soul is continually in my hand: yet do I not forget thy law.

 Psalms 143:10 (KJV)
Teach me to do thy will; for thou art my God: thy spirit is good; lead me into the land of uprightness.

2 Timothy 2:1-3 (Amplified Bible)
SO YOU, my son, be strong (strengthened inwardly) in the grace (spiritual blessing) that is [to be found only] in Christ Jesus. 2 And the [instructions] which you have heard from me along with many witnesses, transmit and entrust [as a deposit] to reliable and faithful men who will be competent and qualified to teach others also. 3 Take [with me] your share of the hardships and suffering [which you are called to endure] as a good (first-class) soldier of Christ Jesus.
2 Timothy 2:1-3 (KJV)
Thou therefore, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus. 2 And the things that thou hast heard of me among many witnesses, the same commit thou to faithful men, who shall be able to teach others also. 3 Thou therefore endure hardness, as a good soldier of Jesus Christ. 

I can not stress enough that the way we feel should not rule us and what the Lord has called us to do. It is Jesus first me second ann most of the time further down the line….like 10th or 12th or so….It is where the Lord has but us. I am (we are) to deny ourselves. Deny utterly, disown ones self…. (Matthew 16:24; mark 8:34; Luke 9:23) I am to count myself as dead. 

Galatians 2:20 (KJV) I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me. 

The more I think of myself the more I hurt…in whatever way that may be, physically, mentally, or spiritually.

Colossians 3:1-4 (Amplified Bible) IF THEN you have been raised with Christ [to a new life, thus sharing His resurrection from the dead], aim at and seek the [rich, eternal treasures] that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. 2 And set your minds and keep them set on what is above (the higher things), not on the things that are on the earth. 3 For [as far as this world is concerned] you have died, and your [new, real] life is hidden with Christ in God. 4 When Christ, Who is our life, appears, then you also will appear with Him in [the splendor of His] glory. (Greatest hope of all)

I don’t think anymore needs to be said. I need to stop complaining about how I feel and look at what is important to Jesus and please Him first AND He will take care of me. 

God bless you. Trusting His grace leads you as you walk in the hope He continually holds out to you.  


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
