What have you chosen? Choose!

                             “Where you go, I will go.”   Photo by Candy Clonts

When you take a stand for something, you are drawing a line between you and something else. So, whose side of the line are you left standing? There are only two sides to choose from.

Joshua 24:15
And if it seem evil unto you to serve the Lord, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.

There is not a middle ground. We are choosing to walk with the Lord or we are choosing to walk deception and devices of satan.

When we are instructed to “choose,” this implies we have a will, we are not being forced  to do anything against our own desires. 

I love the book of Ruth. In my view of things, Ruth made one of the greatest sacrifices of any person, beside our Lord Jesus. Yes, there were and are many others in history and perhaps today, ones that have made great a great sacrifice and a sacrifice that cost them their lives and the lives of others. Ruth, being a woman at this time gave up much and sacrificed her live for another and if you know the ‘story’ she gave her life for us all. Ruth is of the lineage of our Lord and Savior.

This is a most precious scripture. I want this to be my hearts total cry or the will and desire of Christ in me.

First there is the picture of Ruth, her sister-in-law and her mother-in-law, all loosing their husbands in a short period of time. Now Ruth’s mother-in-law, Naomi, is faced with a great decision for herself and her two daughter-in-laws. Naomi chose to go back to her home land, but she knows her daughter-in-laws will better off if they stay in their home land of Moab. Naomi tells them so. Orpah, returns to her home land, Ruth refuses to leave her mother-in-law. Ruth saw and experienced something by Naomi’s life that Orpah didn’t. Here is Ruth’s response to Naomi.

Ruth 1:14-19
And they (the three woman, Naomi, Ruth and Orpah) lifted up their voice, and wept again: and Orpah kissed her mother in law; but Ruth clave unto her. 15 And she said, Behold, thy sister in law is gone back unto her people, and unto her gods: return thou after thy sister in law. 16 And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God: 17 Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried: the Lord do so to me, and more also, if ought but death part thee and me. 18 When she saw that she was stedfastly minded to go with her, then she left speaking unto her. 19 So they two went until they came to Bethlehem…..

Ruth drew a line in the sand. She was knew what she wanted and there was nothing that was going to change her mind. Ruth knew Naomi possessed something she didn’t fully understand. I believe during the time Ruth and Orpah were married to Naomi’s sons, Naomi taught her daughter-in-laws about the living God. Ruth was not going to let go of that and return back to the old way of live.

I also believe Ruth knew what it was going to cost her, as a woman, especially in that day and time, to go and help her mother-in-law in a foreign land, where she was not favored. Ruth had a choice and a will of her own, no one forced her to go to Bethlehem with Naomi….it was Ruth’s choice.

God had greater plans for Ruth. Ruth did not know what was to be in store for her in this new, strange land, but she was learning about this new wonderful God of Naomi’s. I don’t believe that there was a moment that went by as they journeyed to Bethlehem, they did not talk about the great almighty Jehovah.

Ruth took a stand. As they cam to Bethlehem people had already heard about their journey and arrival. Naomi was questioned about it. Ruth was look at as this oddity and I’m sure her motives were questioned, but they proved to be pure. Ruth had a willing, soft and most obedient heart to please Naomi and God. This is my desire.

Can you see how our will and our choices go had in hand? You can be influenced, but it boils down to is what is in your heart and what you will stand for and choose for and choose against.

Ruth choose the life of God and against a life without God. Our choices are not any different. Think about this for a while. I know I will be.

If you have not read the book of Ruth in a while I encourage you t do so. I think I will plant myself here for a while again, God has something for me her to see. I trust as the days go by I will be able to shar with you once again what God is wanting me to larn here.

Until later, many blessings to you as you seek the Lord daily.

 

 

