Open the Door of Your Heart

Revelation 3:20 (Amplified Bible) Behold, I stand at the door and knock; if anyone hears and listens to and heeds My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and will eat (sup) with him, and he [will eat] with Me.

Jesus wants and desires a relationship with us. He knocks at our hearts door and waits for us to answer and invite Him in. He has so much He wants to share, show, teach, give, touch, heal, revive, strengthen, shape, tell….and the list can go on and on…Jesus has so much He desires to reveal to us in one act of obedience…open the door of our heart to Him. In this one act of obedience, He will reveal life to us. He will restore relationships. There is nothing He would not do for His people…for you.

Like the old chorus song, “Turn your eyes upon Jesus, look full (completely) in Hss wonderful face and the things of this life will grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace.”

He wants to hear us, but we also have to give Him time to express Himself to us also…This is where we learn of Him. When we don’t we become ‘frazzled’ and weighted down with the cares of everday things.

Luke 10:39-42 (Amplified Bible) And she had a sister named Mary, who seated herself at the Lord‘s feet and was listening to His teaching. 40 But Martha [overly occupied and too busy] was distracted with much serving; and she came up to Him and said, Lord, is it nothing to You that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me [to lend a hand and do her part along with me]! 41 But the Lord replied to her by saying, Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things; 42 There is need of only one or but a few things. Mary has chosen the good portion [that which is to her advantage], which shall not be taken away from her.

What are the few things Jesus was speaking of to Martha concerning Mary…1) Mary sat at Jesus feet. 2) Mary listened to Him. Martha didn’t do anything wrong, she did what wa natural to her and she just ran off doing things for Jesus…in her fleshly strength. Perhaps if she would have sat with Jesus for a few minutes OR SO this would have not taken place in Martha. I don’t know, but I know me.

This is so like me. I see a need or something that needs to be done and I rush off and TRY to do it. Nothing wrong with that, it needs to be done or taken care of. But did I stop and see how, what, where, when-Jesus’ desires was for this or if I needed to wait or be involved at all. Just because there is a need of something, am I really needing to do it. Meals can wait. Jesus speaking to me is more important. Someone needs a ride. But they didn’t call me I just knew it…maybe Jesus has sent someone else He want to use in that situation and I blow it. Yes the Lord uses our mistakes, but I want to live this abundant life with less of me, my desires and thoughts and more of His.

This is why we need to be sensative to Jesus knocking at our hearts door. Invite Him in. He wants to hear what you have to say, BUT then we need to stop and listen to what HE desires in the situation or direction of our life at the moment.

Have a blessed day.

