It’s time we grew up in the Lord.

Wow! How long will some of us choose to wait?

Growing up is hard to do, but we all have to do it. As we grow we choose what we want. At first our parents or guardians make our choices fr us. As we get a little older they let us begin to make our own choices. Some choices come easier then others do for us. Later on or choices are our own; or are they?

God will not cross our will. He did not make us as a robot or ‘yes men and women.’

Daddy walks with his son in hand. Photo by Candy Clonts

When Jesus asked the up and coming disciples to “follow me,” they still had a choice. But they choose Christ. They had heard and seen this man called Jesus and knew He had something greater for them then what they could provide or give to themselves. So thy followed not knowing what was ahead of them, but in trust in the One they were asked to follow.

1 Corinthians 13:11 (Amplified Bible) When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child; now that I have become a man, I am done with childish ways andhave put them aside.

I found this very interesting to read today. It made me step back and realize how much I do think of myself more than I ought at times…many times.

The Kingdom Of Self


When a child enters the world from the warm and secure environment of the womb he announces, “I have arrived, and I expect you – all of you to respond at once to my every need, whim and desire!“And we, the enthralled parents of this little bundle of cuddly “Goo-goo-ga-ga” joyfully comply. Immediately.

And thus the “kingdom of self ” is established as “Goo-goo-ga-ga” develops into a paragon of self-centered indulgence in a society where personal “rights” have been elevated to near deity status. And just how does the adult version of “Goo-goo-ga-ga” manifest itself ? In at least three ways:

 -Self-indulgence

The insatiable quest for self-gratification focuses on the greedy longings of the mind(uncontrolled imagination, greed, etc.), the physical craving of the body (uncontrolled indulgence in sex, food, sleep, indolence, etc.), and in the unquenchable quest for recognition. (1 John 2:15, 16  Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him. 16 For all that isin the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.)

-Self-protection

The former CEO of a company that went belly up told me how he was hauled into court and queried by the judge as to why the corporation had failed. “It was my fault. I failed in running the company. I am responsible,“said he. Stunned, the judge sat in muted silence. Finally, after gaining his composure he uttered, “In my 20 years on the bench, you are the first person to voluntarily admit they were to blame.

Self-protection says, “Its not my fault.“”I couldnt help it.“”You dont understand my background“(Thank you, Freud!) “The devil made me do it.“(Remember Flip Wilson?).

-Self-pity

Self-pity declares, “No one appreciates me.“”I got the shaft.“”Why does it always happen to me?

So what is the solution to relinquishing the enslaving “kingdom of self “?

How about a daily funeral for “self.” Better yet, how about a moment-by-moment funeral? “I am crucified with Christ…” (Galatians 2:20  I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.) In order to die to self we need to win the battle on at least two fronts:

 (1) Regular quality time alone with God in meditation on His Word, worship and prayer.

 (2) Cultivating the art of living moment-by-moment in His presence.

 —Facts of the Matter

Lord bless you and we shall visit again soon. Love and prayers to you all.

