Dealing and living with Fibromyalgia.

Pain!

No, pain is not any fun. Fibromyalgia is becoming more rampant than ever thought it would. ‘Fibro’ was once known as a “Catch 22.” Doctors could not figure out why we were ‘hypochondriacs,’ so it was ‘Fibro’.

Fibromyalgia is very real.

Photo by Candy Clonts

{Taken from WedMedFibromyalgia is the most common musculoskeletal condition after osteoarthritis. Still, it is often misdiagnosed and misunderstood. Its characteristics include widespread muscle and joint pain and fatigue as well as other symptoms. Fibromyalgia can lead to depression and social isolation.What Is Fibromyalgia Syndrome?

A syndrome is a set of symptoms. When they exist together, they imply the presence of a specific disease or a greater chance of developing the disease. With fibromyalgia syndrome, the following symptoms commonly occur together:

  • anxiety or depression
  • decreased pain threshold or tender points
  • incapacitating fatigue
  • widespread pain

Are Women More Likely to Get Fibromyalgia Than Men?

More than 12 million Americans have fibromyalgia. Most of them are women ranging in age from 25 to 60. Women are 10 times more likely to get this disease than men.

What Are Fibromyalgia Symptoms?

Fibromyalgia causes you to ache all over. You may have symptoms of crippling fatigue — even on arising. Specific tender points on the body may be painful to touch. You may experience swelling, disturbances in deep-level or restful sleep, and mood disturbances or depression.

Your muscles may feel like they have been overworked or pulled. They’ll feel that way even without exercise or another cause. Sometimes, your muscles twitch, burn, or have deep stabbing pain.

Some patients with fibromyalgia have pain and achiness around the joints in the neck, shoulder, back, and hips. This makes it difficult for them to sleep or exercise. Other fibromyalgia symptoms include:

  • abdominal pain
  • anxiety and depression
  • chronic headaches
  • difficulty maintaining sleep or light sleep
  • dryness in mouth, nose, and eyes
  • fatigue upon arising
  • hypersensitivity to cold and/or heat
  • inability to concentrate (called “fibro fog“)
  • incontinence
  • irritable bowel syndrome
  • numbness or tingling in the fingers and feet
  • stiffness

Fibromyalgia can cause signs and feelings similar to osteoarthritis, bursitis, and tendinitis. Some experts include it in this group of arthritis and related disorders. However, while the pain of bursitis or tendinitis is localized to a specific area,  pain and stiffness with fibromyalgia are widespread.}

Photo by Candy Clonts

No I don’t believe ‘we’ are a ‘basket case’ or ‘nuts’…but this is very real. If it is brought on by ‘mental rage’ or not there is a way of living with it and not allowing it to take over your life. NO! mine is not as extreme as many, pain is pain, and difficult to deal with some days, and for others horrible, debilitating pain. There have been days or parts of days I will lay in bed, because of pain; so far I have opted for no meds right now. The main reason, no insurance, but I am able to do what I need to do and then some.

First of all, my doctor said to exercise…huh….it hurts too much…Yes but it does help…anything out of the ordinary daily routine…walking-walk with a partner or the dog it helps motivated…walking also helps stimulate chemicals in the brain to help you process and settle down….go figure; using light weights, play with the kids or in my case my grandson…little by little it has helped. Still not everyday is a good day. Also, learn and teach yourself to relax. When one is in pain, you tense your muscle making the pain worse….that is a toughy for me. The ache just isn’t (like) in the muscles or the feeling of muscles but the bones hurt. Never thought bones could hurt like they do.Fibro not only affects the person who has it, it affects everyone around you.

Some of the worse part is the skin, it feels as if you have the flu…ALL THE TIME. For my husband or my family to run their hand across my back, arms, shoulders, thighs or my backside hurts (maybe a TMI here, but it is there). My back, shoulders and thighs are the worst. (Sometimes they can all hurt at the same time, while other times, just my back and shoulders.) To wince when my husband runs his hand across my back, just for a hug or a gentle touch, about brings me to tears, because he is still getting use to this and it hurts his feeling for me to pull away. He is learning also….this is not personal, but it is hard. I am learning to not flinch or move when being touched, yet it is difficult. There are a few people that say to let him just give you a back rub and it will get better and not hurt as much…I haven’t come to this place sad to say…but I’m trying.

One thing I have learned, or continuing to learn, this is a process daily; to enjoy during the bad days, praying and meditating on the things of the Lord…past, present and the future. He has proven to be so sweet and precious during these times. I feel at times it is ‘work’ to read my Bible, that is, to hold it up, but the Lord has reminded me of Scriptures and brought random ones to me. I keep a paper and pen on the night stand and right the phrases down and later look them up…what a blessing.

To you friends, it is totally sweet and amazing for you to want to help a friend and wish you could carry some of this load, don’t go looking for ‘trials’ and ‘difficulties’, The Lord knows what to fit each one of His people with…what yoke, so we can learn to let Him lead. (Matthew 11:28-30 28 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.) What a special friends you are.

One of the greatest comforts that brings peace of mind and heart, is knowing ones like you all care for and pray for ones with difficulties in their lives. (Colossians 1:9-17 –   9 For this cause we also, since the day we heard it, do not cease to pray for you, and to desire that ye might be filled with the knowledge of his will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding; 10 That ye might walk worthy of the Lord unto all pleasing, being fruitful in every good work, and increasing in the knowledge of God; 11 Strengthened with all might, according to his glorious power, unto all patience and longsuffering with joyfulness; 12 Giving thanks unto the Father, which hath made us meet to be partakers of the inheritance of the saints in light: 13 Who hath delivered us from the power of darkness, and hath translated us into the kingdom of his dear Son: 14 In whom we have redemption through his blood, even the forgiveness of sins: 15 Who is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of every creature: 16 For by him were all things created, that are in heaven, and that are in earth, visible and invisible, whether they bethrones, or dominions, or principalities, or powers: all things were created by him, and for him: 17 And he is before all things, and by him all things consist.   Philippians 4:5-9   5 Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand. 6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. 7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. 8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things. 9 Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.)

I hope this has made a little more sence to a few, as it has for me in realizing what this is all about and trying to live life with pain.

The Apostle Paul suffered pain of some sort, he prayed for the Lord t take it away, but God told him that His (Gods) grace was sufficient him (Paul). (2 Cor. 12:7-10 – 7 And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure. 8 For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me. 9 And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.) A hard pill maybe to swallow but it is also so very true. Not there yet but learning, but I want to be. (Psalm 34:1-10 – 1 I will bless the Lord at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth. 2 My soul shall make her boast in the Lord: the humble shall hear thereof, and be glad. 3 O magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt his name together. 4 I sought the Lord, and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears. 5 They looked unto him, and were lightened: and their faces were not ashamed. 6 This poor man cried, and the Lord heard him, and saved him out of all his troubles. 7 The angel of the Lord encampeth round about them that fear him, and delivereth them. 8 O taste and see that the Lord is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him. 9 O fear the Lord, ye his saints: for there is no want to them that fear him. 10 The young lions do lack, and suffer hunger: but they that seek the Lord shall not want any good thing.)

Blessing to you all!

Photo by Candy Clonts

