What is my goal?

We are taught from a very young age to set goals for ourselves. Setting goals is right and good. God wants us to set goals. (Joshua 24:15 says, “Choose you this day whom you will serve. Matthew 6:33 says, “Seek ye first the kingdom of God.” Proverbs 3:5; “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.” Ephesians 4:24; “Put on the new man.” Philippians 3:14 says, “Press toward the mark.” Duet. 30:19 says, “Choose life.” These are just a few Scriptures that are for all of us. There are so many more verses God spoke directly to men and woman, these same scriptures are for us also. These are goals God has set for us.)

Today I am asking the question, “Are my goals the same goals as Jesus has for me, today and for each day of my life?”

Colossians 3:2 (AMP) 2 And set your minds and keep them set on what is above (the higher things), not on the things that are on the earth.

Colossians 3:2 (AMP)
And set your minds and keep them set on what is above (the higher things), not on the things that are on the earth.

So, as I am asking myself this question, a thought occurs to me. “The goals God has for me are ALL spiritual, so are mine?”

My answer is NO they ALL are not.

Why, then?

First of all I am still in this fleshly body and I tend to think fleshly…hopefully not all the time, but I do.

The verse that has first come to mind is in 2 Corinthians 4:18 (KJV) 18 While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.

My problem, our human reasoning, is we look on the here and now first. The first response needs to be, “is this for an eternal work or just for the here and now?” If my mind-set is for the here and now and not focusing on if it is going to honor the Lord, now and for eternity, why am I getting in such a dither over this? Again I am thinking only through and by my flesh.

Secondly, it is uncomfortable to go against my flesh. What is my flesh? It is what I see, feel, hear, taste, think….the thing I do with my five senses. God has given me another sence and that is a spiritual sence. God wants us, you and me, to act out of the spiritual sense.

The verse above the one I just shared says, (2 Corinthians 4:17) (KJV) 17 For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory; Now let me share this same verse from the Amplified Bible: For our light, momentary affliction (this slight distress of the passing hour) is ever more and more abundantly preparing and producing and achieving for us an everlasting weight of glory [beyond all measure, excessively surpassing all comparisons and all calculations, a vast and transcendent glory and blessedness never to cease!], The here and now is fleeting. If we allow the work of the Lord to be done in our lives in the midst of the difficulties of the here and now, we will experience hope, joy, peace and abundant life here, in the here and now as well as in eternity.

We are going to enjoy beyond all measure what is waiting for us in eternity, in heaven with our Lord Jesus and Savior, but we can enjoy this life now, beyond our imagination full of the Lord as we let go of our flesh and walk in the fullness of the heavenlies now.

The goal that God has for me, for all of us, is to turn loose of what we see, feel and so on, in the here and now. His goal for us is to look through the eyes He has given us and walk spiritually in the here and now than in the flesh.

2 Corinthians 5:7 (KJV) 7 (For we walk by faith, not by sight:)

Believe God’s Word. Trust what It says. Walk in the truth of the Word of God. This is the goal God has for us. This is spiritual and not fleshly. This is tasting and beholding just a glimpse of what is to come in eternity.

This is just one goal I believe God has for me and you to enjoy here and now.

“Lord teach me moment by moment and day by day to let go of how I think and feel about the here and now and be changed to see each ‘thing’ as spiritual. To see the here and now as You see them. To trust You as You draw me closer to You through what You are doing and allowing in my life. Teach me to be spiritual in every accept of my life so that I will bring You honor and glory.”

Lord bless you all until next time.

