Thank you, Veterans AND their Families, Present and Past

Veterans dayToday is Veterans Day. First of all before you read this I want to thank ALL our Veterans and families serving today and who have served yesterday. One who are out and away from their homes, are not the only ones out on a battle field, so are their families and I applaud also for a great service well done. God bless and keep you all.   I have been rather lazy today. Relaxing. Reading. Surfing the net. Relaxing some more…being lazy. Why? It’s a holiday of course.

As I surfed through the net, Facebook and a few other blogs and such I check in once in a while, I was amazed. Maybe I shouldn’t have been, but I was. The debate, rantings, raving, appreciations, cheers, jeers and rude people over Veterans Day and why we celebrate it.

As I have enjoyed my lazy “holiday” many did not. I am thinking of our service men and women who are not allowed this luxury today, the luxury to sit quietly in their homes, doing nothing.

 

I have read several pieces of information, if that is what you might call it today. I have been take aback by many people’s thoughts and opinions of Americans and the service personnel. It not only had to do with Americans, but other service men and women throughout the world. The lack of respect was unreal. I know there are “other” military or militant people out there that are “ugly and brutal.” There are ones who claim a lot of things about us “stupid” Americans.

I am one who considers me to be blessed. Yes I may be very naïve! I may be very sheltered! I may be uninformed! I may be stupid to some! I may be a lot of things. But I am very grateful and proud of our men and women serving in our armed serves. I feel saddened by the debate. I don’t agree with all the choices that the leaders of our country or countries make, I am not in their place or situations, I would not to want to sit in their seats and make the decisions that they make. Nor will I sit in judgment of their actions. One day there will be a greater judge then me with my petty ranting and ravings. Do NOT think for a moment most is us sit idly by, twiddling our thumbs wondering if we know what’s going on or doing nothing, think again. No, we the everyday people probably don’t know all we think we should but that is okay. No! I am not burying my head in the sand and neither are most people. Some are sounding as if they have an axe to grind. I will respect my country, its flag, leaders, and the men and women who serve and represent this country. I have heard firsthand from several that have served. It has not been an easy life for them. But they chose this life and many of them have said they would choose this life again for their country and its people. They are a lot less brainwashed than many people think or believe. I thank you, our veterans and others serving today for the better of us all. Yes, I am dumb enough to believe this. God bless all you who have served and are serving in our armed services and putting your life on the line on a daily, moment by moment basis. I am proud to be an American and grateful to these who have enabled me to keep my freedoms. Yes, freedoms. Agree or disagree, oh well, America was founded on specific principles, The Constitution, and all that it holds and represents for its people. Our serve men and women do the best they know to do at the moment given to uphold that. Thank you again to Americas service men and women here and abroad of today and yesterday. God bless you and your families for your service.

Veterans Day

