A NEW YEARS RESOLUTIONS

A New Years Resolutions?

Welcome 2014.

Welcome 2014.

To make a resolution or not? Hummmmmmm…….A New Year’s resolution is a secular tradition, most common in the Western Hemisphere but also found in the Eastern Hemisphere, in which a person makes a promise to do an act of self-improvement or something slightly nice, such as opening doors for people beginning from New Year’s Day. (Wikipedia)

Does this work? Not generally.  More than likely, NO!

A 2007 study by Richard Wiseman from the University of Bristol involving 3,000 people showed that 88% of those who set New Year resolutions fail. If a person were to share their resolution with an other person it will raise your goal set 10 – 22% more. Peer pressure tends to hold people to a higher accountability. (Wikipedia)

Resolutions......? Hmmmmm.....

Resolutions……? Hmmmmm…..

Back to my question, “To make a resolution or not?”Nope! I don’t think so. 1) I know me. 2) Statistics are against me. 3) Most resolutions are based on my own abilities and well……

So, I’m asking the Lord to do in me as He wills. This is no means a cop-out. How many of you know what it is to deny yourself and give up your will for another. It is not easy. No I am not a puppet on some Ones strings. I still will always have a choice. But my choice is to be the person, woman, wife, mom, friend, etc…..that Jesus desires me to be.

Matt. 6:33 says Seek ye first the kingdom of God and his righteousness and all these things will be added unto you. So, do I seek God to have all the other things? No! just the opposite. I seek to know Jesus.

Is it me or is something not quite right here?

Is it me or is something not quite right here?

Matt 7-11 tells us to ask, seek, knock and continue doing so until we get what we desire of Him. But if you ask, seek and knock long enough you will see it’s not about what you or I desire, but about what He desires. God does not give us what is bad or harmful to us, but good and right for his honor and glory. Even if things are hard, it is still good.

Matt 22:37-40 also tells us to love the Lord God with our whole being and our neighbor as ourself. Wow! How many of us can say we truly do this. I can’t. But I want to learn how.

Psalm 51 is a great cry of my heart. Wash me-Purge-Renew-Create-Restore-Deliver-Teach me so I may know YOUR mercy, loving kindness, to give my self as a broken and humble sacrifice, that I may know YOUR joy, that I may know YOUR wisdom and truth, to experience YOU Jesus, to see YOUR face. Only God can do these things in my heart and life. That I may know the Lord in the fullest, as His desire to know me. (Rev. 3:21)

Sitting with Jesus.

Sitting with Jesus.

Deut 30:19, 20 says we are give a choice, blessing or curse – life or death. I want to choose the blessing and life in Christ.

Yes resolutions can be hard to do, let alone keep them. But not with Jesus.

Yes resolutions can be hard to do, let alone keep them. But not with Jesus.

Luke 10:38-42 shows how we can get caught up in good things, yet they are not the things that please the Lord, I desire to please the Lord. My hearts desire is the good part….at Jesus feet. Jesus help me not to waste my time.

1, 2, 3 John tell us in many places to love the Lord. To put Jesus first. To love not the world nor the things in it. We live in the world but we do not have or need to partake if it’s foolish ways. Johns hearts desire was for Christians to put Jesus first, to live for Him with every fiber of their being…body, soul and spirit…with everything we are to put Jesus first and foremost in our lives. Teach me to love as you love You….to love others.

I can not do this with-in myself, my know how or my will or flesh….it will all fail. It’s not there. It will utterly fail. It will all come tumbling to the ground.

I choose You, Jesus, today and every day.

LEAD ME AND TEACH ME IN YOUR WAYS OH GOD!
Psalm 25:5; 31:3; 143:10……. These are just a few verses….

May the Lord bless you as you choose Him and His things throughout this New Year, or His soon return.

Candy 🙂

2 thoughts on “A NEW YEARS RESOLUTIONS

Comments are closed.