Feeling Joy and a bit Sad

The last few days have been days mixed with great joy and a bit of sadness.

My daughters school soccer team has been involved in a tournament this past few days. They are a new team that was just formed this year. The school soccer team has been coed for some years now. This is the first year for a girls team. They’re having a rough go and start of it.

They have played three games and have lost all three.

We tell our children that winning isn’t everything and losing is what builds character. Losing teachers us humility where as if we were to win all the time we would be full of pride and lack compassion. That is all true, but tonight I watched a team of defeated girls. Some were saddened, some crying – heart broken and some were angry.

I have been sitting here and wondering about these events and what possible meaning there is for
me. I do feel for these girls and my heart does ache for them. As I witnessed this event, sitting here, I began to ask the Lord “What is it Lord I am to see in this?” I know that we don’t go through things, anything, without the hand of God in and on our lives for some reason in every instance.

This is the verse that came to mind, and I am sharing it with you now.

Romans 8:28 And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to [his] purpose.

We all seem to know this verse, “that all things work together for good to them love God.” How many times do we leave out the second half of that verse? It says “to them who are the called according to his purpose.” These things work together for our good because we are called by God and he has a purpose for us in all that touches our lives.

It has been a great joy to watch my daughter accomplish the things that she has in soccer. She is 16 years old and has been playing since she was four. She loves the game, but I also know that she loves The Lord Jesus. My hearts prayer tonight is that even though she is disappointed, hurt and even a little angry at herself. You see the first game they played during this tournament, she was kicked in the knee, one that she has injured in the past. So they had to take her out of the first game, she wasn’t able to play the second game, and the third game she knew that she was not up to par.

To see these emotions in your daughter breaks this mom’s heart. But my prayer is that tonight sometime, even if it is in her hotel room, quietly laying there on her pillow, with other girls around, silently praying to the Lord and crying out to him, I know he will meet her where she is at. I think the Lord that he does meet us where we are, no matter where we are.

As for me, I believe once again the Lord is asking me to let her go and allow him to do what he needs to do in her life. I know this is for my good and for hers. Also I know that the Lord has a greater purpose for me as I watch my daughter grow in him and a greater purpose for her than winning the soccer game.

Lord, thank you for the joy that you have given me and watching my daughter. I thank you when there is sadness in what I think I see, I know your purpose and will is far greater than my vision. Lord I ask you for true vision, in you, in every aspect of my life.

Lord bless you all. Amen!

20140103-201435.jpg

