Veerse for the day…Nov 8, 2011

Habakkuk 3:17-19
Although the fig tree shall not blossom, neither shall fruit be in the vines; the labour of the olive shall fail, and the fields shall yield no meat; the flock shall be cut off from the fold, and there shall be no herd in the stalls: 18 Yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will joy in the God of my salvation. 19 The Lord God is my strength, and he will make my feet like hinds’ feet, and he will make me to walk upon mine high places. To the chief singer on my stringed instruments.

“Yet I will rejoice.” Are we able to say this when difficult times rise.

Habakkuk was describing how they had just lost everything. They lost their livelihood. How were they going to feed their families? How were they to trade and sell their goods for others they needed? We would say today, “I lost my job.”

Now what….my family, my kids, spouse; oh what are people going to think? What if????? But I don’t understand…. What now????? How will we????? Where are we????? When will it get better?????

How many times have we asked ourselves these question, and more?

Habakkuk was right there in the middle of it, just as every one else was and yet he said I will rejoice. Why? He knew his God. Habakkuk knew God was faithful. He knew God was able to supply for their needs. He knew God was going to bring them through this. He knew God was going to make them stronger, in Him. He knew God was going to cause them to go places and do things they had never done before. Habakkuk knew his God. God was to be glorified in the midst of this situation.

Do you, do I know my God to be as faithful, as just, as loving, as the supply, as strength, as the One to carry and take us places we have never been and FULLY believe and trust the Lord to do it all for me/you/us? Do we believe like this, as Habakkuk did? Is our God the same God of Habakkuk? I trust He is. Then if God is God, He is able to do this and more. Let us rejoice and be glad in our Lord. Amen…Amen!

The Lord is good. May He continue to bless you as you seek Him each day. Great is the hope we have in Him and His grace is wonderful all the time, so rejoice. 

 

1 thought on “Veerse for the day…Nov 8, 2011

Comments are closed.